35TH IUSTI EUROPE CONGRESS PRELIMINARY PROGRAM

(Based on the fact that the Congress will be held in a Hybrid format, some sessions/lectures will take place online. The Organizing Committee will provide more detailed information later)

 

 

Sept 29, 2022

11.00 – 17.30 GET(EET 10.00-16.30, CET 09.00-15.30, BST 08.00-14.30)
IUSTI PRE-COURSE (ONLINE)
Chairs: Prof Angelika Stary (Austria), Dr Marco Cusini (Italy)

Click here to see the Program

 

17.30 – 18.30 GET(EET 16.30-17.30, CET 15.30-16.30, BST 14.30-15.30)
Opening ceremony:
Dr Joseph Kobakhidze (Georgia) – Congress Co-President
Prof George Galdava (Georgia) – Congress Co-President
Dr. Claudia Heller-Vitouch (Austria) – IUSTI Regional Director
Prof. George-Sorin Tiplica (Romania) – IUSTI-E Chair

 

18.30 – 19.15 GET (EET 17.30-18.15, CET 16.30-17.15, BST 15.30-16.15)
Opening Keynote/Plenary Lecture # 1
Dr Teodora Wi (WHO, Switzerland)
Global STI: What’s next

 

19.30 – 21.00 GET(EET 18.30-20.00, CET 17.30-19.00, BST 16.30-18.00)
Welcome Reception/Social Event

 

 

Sept 30, 2022

10.00 – 11.00 GET(EET 09.00-10.00, CET 08.00-09.00, BST 07.00-08.00)
FREE COMMUNICATION SESSION


Dr Marco Cusini (Italy)
NEW HOSPITAL-TERRITORY INTEGRATED MODELS FOR THE PREVENTION AND CONTROL OF SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED INFECTIONS, IN ITALY

Irith De Baetselier (Belgium)
MISSED MONKEYPOX INFECTIONS AMONG MALE ATTENDEES OF A SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED INFECTION CLINIC IN ANTWERP, BELGIUM

Dr Laura Fernandez-Lopez (Spain)
ACCEPTABILITY OF THE SARS-COV-2 RAPID TEST OFFER IN COMMUNITY-BASED HIV TESTING CENTERS

Prof Mikhail Gomberg (Russia)
THE ROLE OF ANAEROBIC MICROORGANISMS IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF URETHRITIS IN MEN

Dr Delphine Rahib (France)
EFFECT OF A HIV SCREENING PROGRAM OFFERING REMINDERS AND AT HOME SOLUTIONS IN FRENCH MEN WHO HAVE SEX WITH MEN

Dr Natia Todua (Georgia)
TREATMENT OF ANOGENITAL (VENEREAL) WARTS, TAKING INTO ACCOUNT AVAILABLE RESOURCES IN GEORGIA

 

 

11.00 – 12.30 GET(EET 10.00-11.30, CET 09.00-10.30, BST 08.00-09.30)
Session A – BASHH SEMINAR “ONLINE TESTING AND TREATMENT FOR SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED INFECTIONS”
Chairs: Suneeta Soni (UK) and Claire Dewsnap (UK)


1. Position statement on inappropriate testing and treatment through some online and private providers

Dr. Suneeta Soni (UK)
Background

Dr. Emma Harding Esch (UK)
Assessment of online testing and self-sampling providers for STI

Dr. Elizabeth Okecha Online prescribing for STI
What's on offer?

Dr. Suneeta Soni (UK)
Next steps

Question, comments from European colleagues and discussion

 

2. Dr. Manik Kohli (UK)
Position statement on doxycycline as STI prophylaxis

Questions discussion

 

3. Dr. Claire Dewsnap (UK)
BSIG website

 

 

12.30 – 13.00 GET(EET 11.30-12.00, CET 10.30-11.00, BST 9.30-10.00)
Coffee Break and Poster Viewing

 

13.00 – 13.30 GET(EET 12.00-12.30, CET 11.00-11.30, BST 10.00-10.30)
Plenary Lecture # 2
Prof Khalil Ghanem (USA)
Syphilis 2020’s Drivers, Challenges, and Management

 

13.30 – 14.00 (EET 12.30-13.00, CET 11.30-12.00, BST 10.30-11.00)
Plenary Lecture # 3
Dr Patrick Horner (UK)
My Life with Urethritis

 

14.00 – 14.30 GET(EET 13.00-13.30, CET 12.00-12.30, BST 11.00-11.30)
Plenary Lecture # 4
Prof Georg Stary (Austria)
Understanding the Immune Response to HPVI

 

14.30 – 15.00 GET(EET 13.30-14.00, CET 12.30-13.00, BST 11.30-12.00)
Lunch and Poster Viewing

 

15.00 – 17.00 GET(EET 14.00-16.00, CET 13.00-15.00, BST 12.00-14.00)
Session B –  Syphilis, contemporary approach
Chairs: Prof Nicolas Dupin (France) and Prof Stephan Lautenschlager (Switzerland)


Nicolas Dupin (France)
Neurosyphilis

Stephan Lautenschlager (Switzerland)
Syphilis: Special cases and special conditions

Philipp Bosshard (Switzerland)
Laboratory diagnosis of syphilis: what is the Gold-Standard?

Melanie Taylor (USA)
Congenital syphilis

 

17.00 – 19.30 GET(EET 16.00-18.30, CET 15.00-17.30, BST 14.00-16.30)
Session C – HPV in XXI Centure
Chairs:  Prof Mihael Skerlev (Croatia)  and Arne Wikström (Sweden)


Electra Nikolaidou (Greece)
Global burden of disease

Suzana Ljubojevic (Croatia)
Oncologic aspects of HPV in men"

Mihael Skerlev (Croatia)
Prophylaxis and HPV in children

Arne Wikström (Sweden)
Home-based treatment of HPV-induced lesions 

Claudia Heller Vitouch (Austria)
Office-based treatment: When is this used and which are the best methods?

 

 

Oct. 01, 2022

10.00 – 11.00 GET (EET 09.00-10.00, CET 08.00-09.00, BST 07.00-08.00)
FREE COMMINICATION SESSION


Ms Megi Gogishvili (Spain/Georgia)
COMPARISON OF HIV TESTING PERFORMED PRE AND DURING COVID-19 AT COMMUNITY-BASED TESTING CENTERS IN EUROPE: COBATEST, 2019-2020

Prof Oleg Pankratov (Belarus)
SYPHILIS IN THE REPUBLIC OF BELARUS: MORBIDITY AND EPIDEMIOLOGICAL TRENDS

Dr Nydile Ramesh (UK)
HOW DO SOCIOECONOMIC DETERMINANTS OF HEALTH AFFECT THE PREVALENCE OF HTLV-1 GLOBALLY?

Dr Matthew Valentino (Malta)
THE MONKEYPOX OUTBREAK IN MALTA: CLINICAL CHARACTERISTICS AND DIAGNOSTIC CHALLENGES

Dr Kerstin Wissel (Switzerland)
IMPACT OF ON-SITE PCR TESTING FOR BACTERIAL STIS ON THE NUMBER OF BLIND TREATMENTS AT A LARGE SWISS STI CLINIC

Dr Sofia Papanikou (Greece)
SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED INFECTIONS AMONG HIV (-) MSΜ, AT THE STIS CLINIC OF ANDREAS SYGGROS HOSPITAL, ATHENS, GREECE, 2018-2020

 

 

11.00 – 12.30 GET(EET 10.00-11.30, CET 09.00-10.30, BST 08.00-09.30)
Session D – EADV / ECDC / IUSTI-E SYMPOSIUM - MONKEYPOX OUTBREAK 2022
Chairs: Prof. Christopher Bunker (UK), Prof. George-Sorin Tiplica (Romania)


Dr. Benjamin Bluemel (ECDC)
MONKEYPOX EPIDEMIOLOGICAL UPDATE: WHAT SURVEILLANCE DATA TELLS US

Ms Gabrielle Schittecatte (ECDC)
RISK COMMUNICATION AND COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT ACTIVITIES IN THE CONTEXT OF THE 2022 MPX OUTBREAK

Dr. Benjamin Bluemel (ECDC)
SURVEY ON MONKEYPOX VACCINE ACCEPTANCE AMONG USERS OF DATING APPS

Dr. Ien Chan (UK)
MPX FROM A DERMATOLOGIST PERSPECTIVE

Dr Christopher Scott (UK)
MPX – GUM ASPECTS

 

 

12.30 – 13.00 GET(EET 11.30-12.00, CET 10.30-11.00, BST 09.30-10.00)
Cofee Break and Poster Viewing

 

13.00 – 13.30 GET(EET 12.00-12.30, CET 11.00-11.30, BST 10.00-10.30
Plenary Lecture # 5
Prof Deniz Gokengin (Turkey)
Delivering HIV Care in Central and Eastern Europe 

 

13.30 – 14.00 GET (EET 12.30-13.00, CET 11.30-12.00, BST 10.30-11.00)
Plenary Lecture # 6
Prof Catherine Mercer (UK)
What drives people to our Clinics? - Behaviour, attitudes, alcohol, drugs or nonchalance

 

14.00 – 14.30 GET (EET 13.00-13.30, CET 12.00-12.30, BST 11.00-11.30)
IUSTI-Europe Debate : Screening for Infection - Pro's and Con's
Chair: Dr Peter Greenhouse (UK)


Pro -  Dr John Saunders (UK);

Con - Prof Björn Herrmann (Sweden)

 

 

14.30 – 16.00 GET (EET 13.30-15.00, CET 12.30-14.00, BST 11.30-13.00)
LUNCH AND POSTER VIEWING

 

14.30 – 15.15  GET(EET 13.30-14.15, CET 12.30-13.15, BST 11.30-12.15)
HOLOGIC WORKSHOP
Chairs: Dr. Christian Stoeckigt (The Netherlands)


Dr. Helene Zondag (GGD Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
POTENTIAL IMPROVEMENT OF SYPHILIS SCREENING BY EARLY DETECTION USING TREPONEMA PALLIDUM TMA ASSAY

 

 

16.00 – 18.00  GET(EET 15.00-17.00, CET 14.00-16.00, BST 13.00-15.00)
Session E – Future Perspective
Chairs: Prof Henry de Vries (The Netherlands) and Dr Marti Vall-Mayans (Spain)


Lorenzo Giacani (USA)
Advances in a vaccine for syphilis

Jeffrey Klausner (USA)
The promises of doxy PrEP and PEP

Mitzy Gafos (UK)
HIV PrEP for women

Maurine Murtagh (Switzerland)
STI POCT landscape in 2022

 

18.00 – 18.30  GET(EET 17.00-17.30, CET 16.00-16.30, BST 15.00-15.30)
Closing Plenary # 8
Dr John White (UK) and Prof Chris Kenyon (Belgium)
What we have learnt

 

18.00 – 19.00  GET(EET 17.00-18.00, CET 16.00-17.00, BST 15.00-16.00)
Closing Ceremony

 

20.00 – 23.00  GET(EET 19.00-22.00, CET 18.00-21.00, BST 17.00-20.00)
Networking Event